Laban!

It was the National Science and Technology Week (NSTW) here in the Philippines this past week. This means that I got to attend and help out with the activities at the convention in Pasay City. I enjoyed seeing all of the different areas of science from around the Philippines coming together and the different researchers showcasing their most recent advances. I was able to learn a lot about the scientific interests of the different branches of government as well as some research from the elite private companies in the Philippines.

At NSTW, FNRI was showcasing the importance of nutrition and supplementation throughout the different stages of life. I had the opportunity to talk to a lot of different individuals about the work that I was doing, with FNRI and as well as back at IWU. There were a lot of students attending the conference from local schools. Previously I haven’t had that much interaction with this age group, so it was interesting to see the differences of the younger Filipino generation to the older generation. Many of the students that came up and talked to me when I was working at the FNRI booth asked very intelligent questions that suggested they fully understood the type of research that was going. This gave me a lot of hope that these students will have the ability to further advance the scientific research that is happening in the Philippines.

During the weekend, we went to Cuenca, Batangas to climb Mt. Maculot. Three of my co-workers were nice enough to be our guides for the day. This mountain is classified as a 3/10, a beginner mountain, but I found it to be a rather hard hike. This great hike through the tropical forest where I got to see many native fruits and bugs was topped by the view from the summit of the mountain. We were able to stand on the side of the mountain and look into the lake that contains Taal Volcano, one of the most active volcanos in the Philippines. This hike had to have been one of the most memorable experiences of my life thus far. I am really grateful for all of the opportunities that this internship has granted me in such a short period of time.    

Leave a Reply

